top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaimeelouisephotos

Failure

Brief I have chosen:

6. Produce a series of 4-6 photographs on the theme of failure. Use can use any experiment photographic process, collage or curator a series of photographs. This brief is completely open and be photographs, film, animation or curation.


Failure; definition:

· the fact of someone or something not succeeding

· The meeting was a complete/total failure.

· I'm a bit of a failure at making (= I cannot make) cakes.

· I feel such a failure (= so unsuccessful).

· Their attempt to climb Everest ended in failure.

· The whole project was doomed to failure right from

the start (it could never have succeeded).

I have chosen to pursue this brief because due to Covid-19 the other briefs I was interested in doing, I am unable to do. This is because I am no longer living in Belfast. I think the idea of failure is something all students -especially those of us who are finishing our final year art degree – are experiencing.

I had to make the decision to change my final projects concept at the last minute as I was unable to stay in Belfast and take portraits of my models that I had lined up. I have instead chosen to turn my project into a self-portrait centred project. I do feel as if I have failed myself but obviously there is nothing we can do during these difficult times.

My original project was portraits of androgynous men and women. I had just finalised my concept right before Covid-19 was declared a pandemic and having to move forward without having anyone to photograph was extremely stressful. I didn’t know what I was going to do. Luckily I was able to incorporate self-portraits to still make my project a somewhat reality.

1 view0 comments
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page